A Room With A View

Home.

When we chose to live where we do –far from my husband’s work– it was because of the location (quiet), location (good schools), location (space around us).

The picture that started it all and inspired this post

The picture that started it all and inspired this post

I was picking up boy-tossed clutter in the living room, straightening pillows on the sofa, minding my own business… and I was once again blessed by the view outside my rather dirty window.

Sitting on one sofa, looking at another

The hummingbirds have flown south for the winter, but I still like to rock gently on this love seat and admire the view:

2009 October 162

Yellow Roses in October

Come along with me and we’ll open the sliding glass door and peer into the back yard…

2009 October 163

The tree that holds the rope swing has already lost its leaves and the others will soon follow suit. Put one foot out and look to the right.  If it was evening, we could watch the sky turn into swirls of sherbet color.  This time of year, the daytime colors are warm hues of green, red, and gold:

2009 October 164

The tall shrub on the left gives us shade in the summer for a late supper on the deck.

2009 October 165

kitchen window

I sometimes miss the kitchen garden window from our last house, where I kept a few houseplants, candles, and seasonal decorations.  It was a large window that let in a great deal of light, but I was always aware that someone might be looking in at me; the neighbors were close by with windows facing my own. Here? No worries.

2009 October 166

These 2 pictures (above and below) were taken looking out my front room window. [We don't have a formal living room, although the house was designed that way.] Our home faces north toward a meadow; we often see deer in the very early morning and again after dark. When we bought the house, the shrubs were much taller and dense enough to create a privacy hedge.  In the summer, the porch was humid and buggy; in the winter, it was dark; most of all, I considered it a safety issue — when approaching the house via the front walk, you couldn’t see if there was someone hiding on the p0rch.  We pulled out more than half of them and cut the rest back. SuperDad has kept up with the pruning and shaping, and there is oh-so-much-more light coming in now.

2009 October 168

There are a few more rooms with a view upstairs…

2009 October 169

The blue spruce blocks some of one child's view of the meadow.

2009 October 171

I sat on the side of my bed to take this photograph.

2009 October 175

The “master bedroom” closet area is strangely designed and could really use a remodel (ditto for the bathroom, but that’s another story).  However, the closet area DOES have a small window –the only window in the entire house that faces west.
This time of year, the view is truly beautiful [photos above and below].

2009 October 172

Zoomed-in view of the Blue Ridge Mountains

Thank you for letting me share these photographs with you today.  I truly feel blessed to be able to look out upon such beauty, and I wanted to share it with you.

When I mentioned last week that I wanted to share what I look out upon each day,  I invited others to play along with my little “meme.”  So far, the following have agreed to share their own views with the rest of us:

Jodi Anderson

Harry Martin

allmycke

Reb

Melli

Farmer*sWife

Fritz

Quilly

Be sure to mention in the comments if you are playing and I forgot to link to you!

23 responses to “A Room With A View

  1. Wow! Your views are amazing! And isn’t autumn just so lovely with all its gorgeous colors?

    Thank you for the comment you left on my post today at the Colony. Your thoughts about being born into born-again-ness are interesting. I guess my thoughts are that being born into a spiritual legacy provides you with a wonderful context for an understanding of the faith of your family. However, faith is still a personal choice. My mother’s faith isn’t going to make me a born-again Christian. I still have the opportunity to make my own choices. And indeed, I did make the decision to place my faith in Christ and become “born again” at age 10.

    However, the faith she has modeled to me throughout the years in terms of how she has lived out her faith and how she trusts God everyday is very impacting, and I’m so thankful to receive that legacy!

  2. What a blessing to have a view like that! THANK YOU for sharing it with us.

  3. Your yard is gorgeous! You are going to be quite disappointed with mine — plus, they’ll be up a bit late since I forgot to take them today (I still think it is Monday).

  4. So pretty!

    I can’t say that my view is quite as nice out front, unless you like watching cars and semis zoom past at 55 mph. Out back is not so bad with all the trees, especially when they’re covered with snow.

  5. Nice. You are lucky to have such a beautiful view.

    • Karen, some people would find our location much too remote for their liking. There isn’t exactly nightlife around here, unless you count the critters…

  6. I DID play today indeed — but I don’t know WHAT I was thinking – because I have ZERO time to go visit others today… or for the next several days I would think… (maybe over coffee in the mornings – Jientje and I both might do our visiting?) Who knows! YOURS is the yard I want… at MY house! Manicured. Beautiful. Mine is a mess… never landscaped … and the leaves falling are making it messier and messier by the minute! Sheeeeeeesh what a sight for Jientje! Oy vey! :D

  7. Lots of great views out your windows! Home is always a great place to be.

  8. hee, my first thought was “OMG! BREATHTAKING!!!”

    ..and my second thought was “oh man, i’m so glad i don’t have to rake up all those leaves” ;-)

  9. Wow! What a beautiful place you have made for yourselves. I would welcome the remoteness and quiet, but alas, I am where I am. I finally have mine up.

  10. I love your inside-looking-out photos. You have a beautiful yard. I’m trying to figure out where you live, like east versus west coast. I’m guessing either east coast, like Maine, or west coast, like Oregon or Washington.

    Either way, lovely. It was fun to play along with you and your other readers. :)

  11. Lucky you! That’s a fine view you have.. no matter which window. What a great spot!

  12. Pingback: Quintessentially Quilly » Hawaii Without A View

  13. My views are finally posted. I hope you aren’t disappointed. there really isn’t much to see.

  14. How the heck to I comment on Joni’s blog? Her cloudy views are beautiful. I am frustrated.

  15. What a beautiful view. What a wonderful place to live. Our roses are all dead.

  16. Thank you for sharing your beautiful views. The yellow roses make me smile.

  17. playing?? Hmmm

    These are gorgeous photos though!!!

    Thumbs up from AJ!

  18. Oh *that* was exactlly what I needed for a stressful night. Just beautiful to see a different part of the country and all that is beautiful about fall. Thanks for lowering my blood pressure.
    :-)

    XXOO