In search of Calm

We could all use a little calmness in our lives. 

By following simple advice heard on the Dr. Phil show you too can find inner peace.  Dr. Phil proclaimed the way to achieve inner peace is to finish all the things you have started and never finished.  So, I looked around my house to see all the things I started and didn’t finish, and before leaving the house this morning, I finished off a bottle of Zinfandel, a bottle of Baileys Irish Cream, a package of Oreo cookies, the remainder of my old Prozac prescription, the rest of the cheesecake, some Doritos and a box of chocolates.  You have no idea how freaking good I feel right now.

“To do is to be”–Socrates
“To be is to do”–Jean-Paul Sartre, Plato

“Do-be-do-be-do”–Frank Sinatra    
…or any of us after following the advice written above!

[A friend sent the above in an e-mail to me.  Just to set worried minds to rest, I don’t have any unfinished bottles of Zinfandel or Baileys lying about; Prozac is not my drug of choice; and I can only dream of cheesecake.]

3 responses to “In search of Calm

  1. Oh dear, but what a good laugh I got from this!
    By the time I’d read as far as ‘…and before leaving the house this morning,’ I was sitting here thinking ‘Damn it all to …., why does ANYYONE have to include these cutesy sayings and inane adages in their blogs – isn’t it bad enough that people spam you with that garbage?’
    What a relief that the rest of this piece took a different direction than I thought it would – and I can understand why you added the disclaimer!

  2. farmer*swife

    You are so funny! I’m so glad I stumbled in here! Thanks for readin’ me!