The dangers of opening mail after midnight

I should be asleep, but I’m not. 
Do you recall what started off a series of unfortunate events a few weeks ago?  I am referring to my little accident, when I backed into the post at town hall.

Well, tonight I was having trouble sleeping, so I worked on a bit of kitchen clutter – loading dishes left in the sink, putting away clean dishes left in the drainer, and then I started to go through a stack of mail (Friday & Saturday deliveries).  I tossed the obvious junk and then moved on to less obvious items.  Hmmmm… what’s this?  Looks like junk mail but better check…
*GASP* 
It is an itemized bill from the insurance company for the Town, for over $6,000Look again at those pictures.  Very, very little of that damage is from me.  A bit of split wood.  Much more damage is from age, lack of care, and someone else long ago.  They are charging me for a whole new roof, plus labor. 
Oh, and there are 3 separate occupants that share this roof.  My guess is that I am being asked to replace the entire thing. 

I am sick to my stomach and spitting mad.  It’s 1:30 a.m. on a Sunday morning.  I should be sleeping, because I have to concentrate tomorrow:  the handbells are playing at the 10am worship service and the singing group I am in is recording a few songs afterwards for a music CD that the church is working on.  So I really need to sleep!    I’m leaving on a 2-week vacation in 30 hours (for which I am not yet packed).  I don’t have a lawyer, and this is not the sort of thing you call your insurance agent about at one o’clock in the morning.   

The only thing I can even be glad about right now is the fact I went back and took photographs to document the damage.   I think the pictures may very well be useful in this case. 

*sigh* 

Well, I feel a little calmer just writing this down.  I’ll go pray for peace and wisdom and get some sleep before morning.  Thanks for listening. 

11 responses to “The dangers of opening mail after midnight

  1. Why is it so hard to let it go even when there’s nothing we can do about it? I hope you find a little rest and peace tonight.

  2. Oh my goodness! Good luck with this! Horrible!

  3. Call your insurance agent in from vacation and fax the paper to them. This is why you have insurance. They will fight it out with the town.

  4. I hope it is cleared up soon. I would hate for you to have to carry the burden of just the thought around. Best of luck!

  5. I am so sorry. My friend’s son hit a telephone pole….they made him pay $1,000 to replace it. Apparently posts of any kind are very pricey.

  6. Karen is right, that is what the policy is for.

  7. I smell Town Hall smelling an opportunity for a free roof…you’ve paid all your premiums-let the insurance company worry for you.

  8. I also wonder if people in town figure you are fairly new to town and therefore easy marks?

  9. Oh no they didn’t! That’s ridiculous. Why does everyone have to be out to get something for free? I hope you get this resolved, peacefully and without delay.

  10. oh NO. how awful.. things like that are CRAP to discover late at night when ther’es nothing you can do about it. good luck w/your insurance company… definitely fight this!!

  11. UPDATE: I just talked to my insurance company, and since I am on vacation, I gave the nice lady there my blog addy so she could see the pics I had taken. Of course, I gave all the other info, too. They’ll be dealing with it. I’m calm now, thanks!