Die Schule beginnt im Morgan

Tomorrorw is the start of another school year for those of us living in Kcinnova’s World. 

We’re not ready.  Oh, most of SnakeMaster’s supplies are already in his desk at school (we met his teacher during open house hours on Friday), and the other boys assure me they have what they need. 

It’s the early morning start that is going to be so difficult for us here.  The longer summer has dragged on, the later some people have been sleeping in… noon was starting to look reasonable!  I usually see my teenagers prior to noon, but not by much.  I’m not sure what time H-J woke up today, but he was still in his pajamas in bed, reading a book, at 1:45pm!  I understand the desire for days like this, and since the opportunity for more such days is disappearing with the fireflies – well, I just can’t blame him. 

It wasn’t so long ago that I was homeschooling my first 2 preschoolers, or sending my last one off to Kindergarten.  Tomorrow, I will embarrass my junior, my sophomore, and my 7th grader by the simple act of kissing them on the cheek on their way to the bus stop.  (I don’t do this in front of anyone else, but it seems to embarrass them just the same.   I’ll do it anyway.)  My youngest will still welcome his hug and kiss goodbye, but as a new 3rd grader I wonder how much longer this will last?

My babies are growing up! 

Despite this, or maybe even because of it, I will continue to give them a kiss on the cheek and a daily reminder that “I love you!”  as they walk out of my world and into their own.

6 responses to “Die Schule beginnt im Morgan

  1. My 18 year old begrudgingly allows a hug each time he heads out for the day. I can’t imagine my day without them.

  2. My six year old loves the hug and kiss — but, if any kids or his friends are watching? I get banned 😦 Meanie-weenie kids…

    Hope they have a great first day!

  3. Last year I would leave a note- I love you! Mommmy- I guess that embarrassed her too much so this year I compromised and changed it to- Have a Great Day! Mom

  4. YAY! Back to school!

  5. Always kiss them…they will thank you when they are older.