WWC Nifty FIFTY!! Moody & Bright …and a question

I haven’t been with the Weekly Words Challenge from its inception, but I’m still excited to see this fun photo meme continuing on its mission of challenging us each week.  Tink is our beloved leader, no matter if she is feeling MOODY or BRIGHT. 

This week, it’s all about archive photos.  What?  It’s the first day of school!  Leave it be. 

A 16yo on the First Day of School?  MOODY!!

A 16yo on the First Day of School? MOODY!! ...Especially when his mother insists on taking a picture of him: "Mom!!! I'm not in Kindergarten."

 

 

 

 

 

Also, it is a rude awakening, to go from sleeping in all summer to suddenly being buzzed awake by an alarm clock.  This picture is from last year.  TODAY is the first day of school.  I’m just guessing, but I’d say it’ll be about the same:  MOODY, and shocking to the system.   

 

 

Same MOODY boy, turning 17 (read his shirt):

BRIGHT birthday candle flames

BRIGHT birthday candle flames

 

BRIGHT colors, camoflauged butterfly

BRIGHT colors, camoflauged butterfly

BRIGHT yellow on wings

BRIGHT yellow on wings

BRIGHT sun

BRIGHT sun

 

definitely MOODY...but wearing a BRIGHT shirt!

definitely MOODY...but wearing a BRIGHT shirt!

 

BRIGHT toe-nail polish

BRIGHT toe-nail polish

 

BRIGHT sunset

BRIGHT sunset

 

CAMERA UPDATE TIME!!! 
While there is nothing wrong with my Canon PowerShot A75, there are a few things I am wishing it did better.  SuperDad thinks that maybe a new camera is a cheaper than jewelry good idea for a Christmas gift. 

But what to choose?!? 

Here is where  I need your help, my photo-bloggie friends. 🙂

Some things I like  about my camera:

  • easy to use, and difficult to accidentally delete a photograph
  • has an LCD screen AND a peep-hole (sometimes those LCD screens have too much glare to use)

Some things I don’t like  about my camera:

  • neither the macro nor the zoom/telephoto gets me close enough to my subjects.  If I had to choose, I’d ask for better zoom/telephoto. 
  • too big to fit into a pocket or my purse!  I’d like to be able to take my camera with me all the time, to just keep it in my purse so I could take those unplanned photographs.

I want to hear (okay, READ) your suggestions!! 

 

A birth certificate shows that we were born
A death certificate shows that we have died
Pictures show that we lived!
13 responses to “WWC Nifty FIFTY!! Moody & Bright …and a question

  1. WWC update: It is a BRIGHT sunny morning and no one was MOODY!! Happy start to the day with a hot breakfast and no rushing about. 🙂

  2. Great pics, esp. your son in the hat!
    Cameras? Sigh, wish I could help. I wrestle with mine everyday.

  3. all great photos, but I LOVE that sunset over the water! stunning!

  4. Great pics and I love the quote.

  5. First, good pictures. I love the toenail peaking through, it’s my favorite of the bunch.
    Next, I totally just upgraded from the exact same camera you have. It was a combo birthday and mother’s day present and I love it. In fact I might marry it. I got a canon power shot s5is. Mainly because it has a fairly powerful zoom and a macro setting. It is however bigger than the a75. But any camera with a good zoom, is going to be fairly big because of the size of the lens.
    Good luck camera shopping!

  6. I love the toenail shot. Very artsy! The fuzzy hat picture is cute too. Well played!

  7. Wow! Love those moody yet very bright kids – and I adore butterflies – always have – got that from my mom at an early age!
    As to your camera – it’s fantastic that you may be getting a new one, although you take great pictures with your current one! I’m afraid that if you go for better telephoto/zoom you are going to have the attendant larger size for the camera itself – but they’re getting smaller every day, so here’s hoping by Christmas there will be something just perfect in the right price-range!
    Oh – and I love the sandy foot with the bright polish!

  8. Nice shootin’ 🙂 “I can ignore you as long as it takes” Priceless!! Good luck on the camera search. Superdad, smart man, a camera is cheaper then jewelry 🙂

  9. Wifester’s camera (or mine, that she took over, depending on who you ask) is a Panasonic DMC-LS70. It’s pretty portable and compact, but I’m not sure if it’s as small as you want…

  10. I love that toe-nail photo and the sun is wonderful. I used this site while researching for my Olympus SP-550UZ, but it is large.

    http://www.digitalcamerainfo.com/

  11. I dearly love butterflies, and those are great shots, but I love the foot in the sand, and the waterscape. Yours make my photos pale!!! 🙂

  12. The toe nail polish peeking out of the sand is perfect. Wonderful shot!

  13. LOL on your son’s “oh mom” look. Too funny, and brings back memories