Back in the Game

Happy Wednesday!  It’s Wednesday, don’cha know?  What?  What’s this about Friday??
Okay, so it’s Wednesday on a Friday.  Mrs. G. will understand.
I’ve spent a few weeks mulling over the situation, and this week it all came to a head: either get serious with the diet and exercise, or give up. It was beginning to look like giving up. Because seriously? I’m not running a 5K in the next 3 years anytime soon. I think my feet and knees are twice as old as the rest of me and they can barely take care of themselves, let alone the extra weight I ask them to bear. 

This morning I went to the gym for the first time in weeks.  I ended up doing a lot of stretching – the muscles were pretty tight – and of course I worked out some, too.  I’m sure it made zero difference to my belly or backside.  I came home, ate a bowl of healthy oatmeal and sipped some green tea.  Then I burst into tears confessed to my dh how very frustrated I am about my weight.  Frankly, as petrified as I am of much as I don’t like surgery, I’m about ready to beg for it. 

Luckily, SuperDad is also a super husband.  He let me cry it out vent and come to a decision on my own:  TODAY – NOW – I am starting a new eating plan.  I don’t say diet.  Diet is just ‘die’ with a ‘t’ on the end.  Diet also connotates something that has a beginning and an end.  Thus, I have begun a new eating plan. 
I’ll be the first to admit I am not easy to work with when it comes to food.  I resist anything difficult and I often resist anything new (unless it has to do with chocolate).  Weight Watchers?  UGH!!  All that adding up of points or writing things down, not to mention having to weigh-in at a meeting.  The best luck -call it success if you want- that I have had was when I followed Atkins.  This was back in the spring/summer of 2003 when I actually lost 32 pounds without feeling too deprived (now there’s a minor miracle).  I also learned I am a total sugar addict.  There’s the rub:  I am an addict.  I started having a bit of sugar here, a bit of sugar there.  A slice of bread.  A piece of cake.  Pretty soon I was back to mainlining the stuff.  Sweet! 

I was so much more energetic when I wasn’t consuming sugar (once I got through the withdrawal headaches).  Lately, I’ve been falling asleep every afternoon… although that could also be related to lack of sleep… sleep… Zzzzzz….

Anyhoo, I’m not going to be counting calories.  I’m not going to be writing down every nibble of food or drink that passes my lips.  I am going to be eating plenty of vegetables, drinking lots of water, consuming proteins, and limiting my “breads and grains” to old fashioned oatmeal.  I know it’s going to be tough.My German heritage makes me a sucker for bread, potatoes, and beer.    Ich liebe die Kartoffeln.   But something’s gotta give, and I really need want it to be the fat that gives up and goes away.

16 responses to “Back in the Game

  1. You can do it!!!
    Stay away from corn syrup too as well as sugar.
    It is hard at first, but your body has no idea how to deal with it and turns it straight into triglycerides. icckkk.
    I belong to a great forum, its about keeping a family cow, but there are sub boards on nutrition and lots of recipes.
    There is a great book called nourishing traditions that is highly recommended. I am about to order it.
    the link is http://familycow.proboards32.com/index.cgi
    Everyone there is great, and there is lots more than just cows. We would love to see you there!
    I would love to hear of your progress!!

  2. Awwwwww, bless your heart. I sooo here what your saying. My Sunshine gal came to a realizatiion that she had to make a ‘life style’ change when it came to food. Food,eating and such cannot be her ‘fun’ thing to do anymore. She had to find something else to replace her food = fun gene. After consulting her Dr. about her problem of PCOS…interesting read there!!…she made the decision to extremely limit her Carb intake. it’s working very well for her so far. it is rather extreme, but she determined to get healthy. ( if you research PCOS you’ll understand why)

    the rather long point I’m trying to make is…do it for you…so that in the long run you actually end up doing it for your whole family…you’ll be healthier and feel in charge of something when everyday life tries to spiral out of control.
    I applaud you gal! Go for it!!!

  3. Good for you! It is hard to make the right decisions at first, trust me. I am still trying to make the right decisions most of the time. It will get easier and once you are past the sugar craving it will be better. Good luck with your changes.

  4. I am doing this now to, pretty much everything you just said. I’ve done WW before as well and the point tracking and measuring drives me bananas. So I am changing my relationship with food, I went to the military nutritionist who was a really cool holistic type woman and she worked out an easy program for me. I am following it and hoping to be more comfortable with myself in a few months….it’s working so far….I’m down 9 lb in the past month. The sugar thing is big and she talked with me about that. When I cut the sugar, my energy levels are lot better and people might think this sounds weird, but I feel much more calm. Good luck to you, as soon as you see some results that will keep you motivated the first couple weeks are the hardest I think.

  5. I watched my MIL doing WW for 2 weeks while she visited us (she was pretty much ignoring her diet by the end, of course). I had success with Atkins, sort-of success with the Weigh-Down diet and South Beach, and very little success with 3-D. I already know that low-fat is NOT the way for me to go. I have a friend who is really into the raw milk, organic everything, coconut-based diet. I’m using a bit of that, a bit of low-carb, and a lot of common sense. My dh is a nurse with personal interest in healthy foods, so he is a good resource and a good cheerleader! The one thing he can’t do is truly understand my struggles, because he has never met a comfort food in his life.

  6. Yes, I sure do understand. My Wednesday will be Sunday. I can’t do low-fat either. I walk around starving.

  7. I like oats and all, but man, green tea is like dishwater isn’t it?

  8. Stay focused and discipline will pay off in spades. Change your food and change your life!
    Good luck!

  9. Oh Man I need to do this. I just ate a cold leftover chicken nugget from my toddler’s plate and called it lunch. ugh.

  10. I wish you luck. I lost 60 lbs. several years ago doing just what you’re doing. Unfortunately I’ve put 30 back on this year (being as how it has been pretty much the worst and most stressful year of my life and all).

    If you ever do decide to go the surgical route, let me know. I have seen many people not do well, but I have 2 friends who have done very well and I know they’d be willing to talk to you about it.

  11. Best of luck to you.. you’re choosing the healthiest way to do it too.

  12. I read once in a magazine when I was in my late 20s that if a woman eats the same and keeps the same level of exercise and activity level? After 30 she will begin putting on one pound a year.

    That’s without even messing it up for ourselves! And, I’m a smaller gal? but, I had to suck it up and in yesterday wearing the low rise jeans. It’s hit me too. Just took a little longer.

    I was frustrated yesterday thinking to myself… tomorrow. I’ll get it all right tomorrow. I never used to be this way because I used to “always” get it right.

    Anyhow. You are AWESOME!! I am so proud of you!!

    And, the physical activity is sooooo important. Especially? Building a little muscle! Cuz’ it burns extra just by being attached to our bones and all.

    SUGAR: Sleep deprivation makes you crave sugar. Yep. Bet ya’ didn’t know that? I mean that it is an actual fact. And, I know you burn the day at both ends. So, squeeze some extra zzzz’s in now and then too.

    Happy Saturday! You GO! Green Tea and ALL!!!!!!!

  13. i think it’s also harder this time of year, with all the fattening holiday stuff coming out and the temperature dropping. good luck!

  14. Memarie Lane is right. I’ve given up until January.

  15. I made a homemade apple pie for dh before going to book club, then I turned down a slice of lovely homemade applesauce spice cake after the discussion. *sigh*

  16. I believe in you! My hang-up with gyms is that you have to go. Lol. No, seriously. If you skip out for one day, it quickly becomes seven, and then you’re seven days behind and thinking “what the ef is the point?” You need to find some things you can do at home. I do step-aerobics while watching TV. Then I take breaks and use arm weights… while watching TV. Then we play video games on the Wii, which is like fun exercising anyway.