WWC #61: Public & Private

Since Tink was off on her honeymoon 🙂 our favorite cynic Jay was given free reign with the Weekly Words Challenge . The following is how I interpreted his words:

SuperDad finally agreed that our own PRIVATE fire pit was a good idea, and lickety-split, he & SnakeMaster made one for us! It still needs some big rocks around the edges but this will do fine for now:

PRIVATE fire pit completed and ready for lighting

PRIVATE fire pit completed and ready for lighting

First lighting after darkness fell

First lighting after darkness fell

SnakeMaster asked for some hotdogs to cook on the fire

SnakeMaster asked for some hotdogs to cook on the fire

Gary suggested I wasn’t sharing when I failed to post pictures of things I had baked. Hmmmm…. should baking be kept PRIVATE or PUBLIC? What do you think? Fair warning: the next picture may or may not help you in your healthy eating plans.
In this household, it is considered bad form to bake something yummy for other people without baking some for those eating supper at home. Sooooo….. the pan on the left was for PRIVATE home consumption and the pan on the right was the identical item for PUBLIC consumption at church.

Amish friendship bread = pumpkin cake

Amish friendship bread = pumpkin cake

People must feel sorry for me, because we often get additional leftovers sent home. Score! Four chocolate cupcakes for 4 hungry boys. Oh, and the Amish Friendship Bread, which normally calls for vanilla instant pudding, got an autumn makeover with pumpkin spice pudding.

**Why yes, they are being stored in my dirty oven! It’s actually a very good hiding place for leftover goodies: out of sight/out of mind for me, but they stay nice and fresh for everyone else.
Just don’t forget to check the oven before preheating….

CONGRATULATIONS, TINK & HOOP!!!

We all look forward to seeing the wedding pictures. 🙂

16 responses to “WWC #61: Public & Private

  1. An outdoor is always wonderful – no matter the season. And that baking looked yummy. I’ve failed miserably at storing anything in my oven. I NEVER remember to check before pre-heating. Oh the things I’ve melted…

  2. Great play! Love the little bon fire. 🙂

    We too, have to bake enough for the household and gremlins to nibble on. 🙂

    Amish friendship cake. Is that one of those you add sugar, wait two days, add flour, wait two days…kind of cakes?

  3. AMB/C: Day 6, add 1.5 cups each of sugar, flour, and milk.
    Yep, it’s the gift that keeps on giving and giving until your freezer is overwhelmed with loaves, your pantry is completely empty of flour, sugar, and pudding mix, and your friends run and hide when they see you coming with a ziploc bag full of “starter.”

  4. OMG that looks soooooooooo tasty!

  5. how cozy! I know my boys would love to make a fire outside (a big no no in an apartment complex, obvs.)

  6. Keeping baked goods in the oven? Okay. I hadn’t thought of that, but that could work.

    They look very yummy!

    And I love fire pits. I wish I had one here, but I live in an apartment.

  7. I was eating lunch when I saw that and it made me hungry for dessert. 🙂 Well done.

    Smores and dogs over a fire, yum.

  8. It is snowing fat flakes of flurries on my fire pit right now and it is too wiffin’ cold to even step outside.

    Baked goods in the oven was the only safe place (besides the fridge) when we lived deep in the heart of Texas. We had some serious ant issues there.
    However, forgot about a cheesy-puffasaurus cake hiding in the oven …until I smelled melted frosting and broiled cheetos. The kids loved it and still talk about it!

  9. Mmmm … Baking good … My Mom makes an Amish cinnamon bread. I really should pull the starter out of the freezer and get some going. 😀

  10. I used to live with a girl who stored leftover pizza in the oven. *shudder* LOL! Cool shots!

  11. Those are great and now I’m hungry for goodies. We store stuff in the oven all the time. Keeps the cats from eating our yummies. And I forget to take them out all the time when I turn the oven on. Thankfully I usually remember within the first 100 degrees 🙂

  12. I dearly love fire pits, and having cookouts around the fire. Roasting marshmallows and hot dogs. So much fun! Great use of the words.

    The other “make up” post for last week is great too!! 🙂

  13. I’ve always wanted a bonfire pit in my backyard! My parents have one, but it doesn’t get cold often enough here to use it. That and the dogs like to roll around in the ashes the next day. Bleh. Mmmm at the goodies. You can send me the leftovers any time! 😉

  14. LOL o n people running when they see you with a “starter kit” — someone brought it to the office, and I went, “What the hell?!” 🙂

    And, psst, my oven is dirty, too. It’s my dirty little secret. 🙂

  15. What a great idea to hide them in the oven–it would never work for me though–I know I would be preheating with the pans in all the time.

    Great fire pit!

  16. Yummmmmm – I must be starting to feel better! The Amish Friendship bread looks fabulous.

    (If you were serious about wanting some of my crafts, email me at the address in my sidebar.)