Where are we going and why am I in this basket?

This morning I would like to thank Memarie Lane for making me sick to my stomach. No, really. Go read her post about how the U.N. has spent $23 Million on painting the ceiling. This was her source.

As I commented over at her place, I am sick to my stomach over this. Here’s a few tidbits that make me especially nauseous:

$633,000 came from Spain’s budget for overseas development aid.

  • AND HOW MANY CHILDREN WOULD THAT FEED??

Spanish artist Miquel Barcelo told the press that his 16,000-square-foot ceiling artwork reminded him of “an image of the world dripping toward the sky”.

  • I think it’s an image of morality dripping toward HELL.

U.N. Secretary General Ban Ki-moon praised the piece and thanked Barcelo for putting his “unique talents to work in the service of the world.”

  • Yeah, thanks a lot. NOT.
8 responses to “Where are we going and why am I in this basket?

  1. hummmmm…thank for passing on the stomach ailment, I feel a little ill myself now.

  2. Hope they sleep well at night. I would have painted it for the cost of only 49.95.

  3. Gah. That’s inexcusable. What is this, medieval times where the nobility surround themselves in comforts while the peasants starve? Again I say, GAH.

  4. maybe they should have spent a couple a hundred bucks on cute pottery instead????

  5. That is lot to think about.

    And Gary cracks me up!!

  6. Things like this just irritate me, and convinces me that no matter who is in office, some things will never change. Greed and stupidity being two of them.

  7. OH hell, pay for my trip to Geneva and I would have done it for free. And it would have looked better 🙂

  8. Eww! That is upsetting on multiple levels.