It’s tough to be a turkey

I’m not a vegetarian, but I have friends who are (like Gary) and I have a son who probably will be vegetarian once he decides to eat protein in other forms… like beans.

On Saturday we went to a post-Thanksgiving celebration at the home of some friends. They roasted a pig (which really freaked out one very sweet vegetarian teenager whose brothers tricked her into looking at the pig….MEANIES!!) and there were also venison burgers and PLENTY of non-meat foods, too.
Anyhow, I firmly believe that if you are going to eat meat, then you should know it came from an animal. So yes, my kids all saw the pig, and SnakeMaster agreed to be in this picture:

If you are a vegetarian, DON'T LOOK!!!

If you are a vegetarian..... DON'T LOOK!!!

My uncle has what some might call a farmette (13 acres) and over the years he has raised rabbits, pigs, cows, horses, farm dogs & cats, and a burro named Amos.  I loved spending time there when I was growing up.   On one visit I helped feed the pigs, and on the next visit I might be eating bacon. Rabbit tastes a bit like chicken. Beef is pretty much just beef.

Vegetarians, it is safe to look again…

There was always a big garden. The horses are for riding and viewing pleasure. Famous Amos was there to fulfill a dream of being a mountain man; my uncle had the proper beard to go with the image. I’m told that he & Amos had some nice camping adventures.

Long story almost completed….

SnakeMaster had an assignment to finish up this weekend (he had the entire month of November to complete it). He needed to read at least 15 poems, by at least 2 different authors, make an alphabetized list of them all, and then choose his favorite. THIS ONE he was to write out and attach to a poster board with a collage of pictures that helped to describe the poem and/or his feelings about the poem. It was very easy for SM to choose his favorite poem, and it was easy to cut out pictures from the recent grocery store fliers that came in the mail. Here is the poem he chose:

POINT OF VIEW

Thanksgiving Dinner’s sad and thankless
Christmas Dinner’s dark and blue
When you stop and try to see it
From the turkey’s point of view.

Sunday Dinner isn’t sunny
Easter Feasts are just bad luck
When you see if from the viewpoint
of a chicken or a duck.

Oh how I once loved tuna salad
Pork and lobsters – lamb chops too
Till I stopped and looked at dinner
from the dinner’s point of view.

by Shel Silverstein



10 responses to “It’s tough to be a turkey

  1. well, he’s a great kid, and that is NOT exactly how I like my pigs!

  2. I like that poem!

  3. Gary!! You weren’t supposed to look at the picture!!

  4. I love that poem! I am always torn when I cook meat, it smells so good, but I’ve seen the carcass, felt it’s flesh, it just seems so wrong. I really like tofu. Maybe your son would like to check out some of my tofu recipes at http://blog.angieschleicher.com
    even my meat-eating Wifester loves them.

  5. i was once engaged to a guy from tonga. i went with him to a tongan cookout where they were roasting a piglet. when it was done they hung it from a rafter, and he ripped off one of the legs and handed it to me like it was a great prize.

  6. One of my co-workers is Indian and her kids are vegetarians but her husband is not. She was giggling her head off in her cube and we asked her what was up. She said her son had called to tell her that he had eaten his dad’s bowl which had goat in it. So he was horrified that he had eaten meat. She had tried to tell him earlier that afternoon which bowl to eat but he told her he already knew and had hung up the phone. So she had “tried” to warn him. She’s an excellent cook and if I had her at home with me I could go vegetarian as well. I say this with a pork tenderloin cooking in the slow cooker as I type.

  7. I like that poem a lot.

    And the pig roasting.

    When we were kids we would go to a pig roast every single year over at a friends house on July 4th. I’m an animal lover, but also a meat eater.

    Oh and Venison is sooooooo good.

  8. oh man, i recognized that poem from the first line! i LOVED shel silverstein growing up! i had all his books 🙂

    ps – venison and rabbit.. YUM. some of my favorite meats!

  9. MMmmmmm pig roast.

    Funny poem.

    I still like meat!