New Year, New York state of mind

This is my New Year York call for help!

I thought of Knight right away, since she lives in The City, but I also thought of Mrs. G. who was there back in August. And I know there must be more of you out there…doesn’t Gary‘s sister live in The City?

Or maybe you stumbled over here from somewhere else because of the title/tags or you’re a lurker …and you live in NYC and want to trade humble abodes for a few days? We’ve got a nice quiet location, just you and our cat, near horse country but only 45-60 minutes away from a Metro station to visit DC? How ’bout it? 😉  Yeah, I’ve got a good imagination, but what the hay!   Just thought I’d put that out there, ’cause you never know what you’ll get when you go fishing.

We’re trying to book a trip for spring break, since dh & the kids have never been to NYC, and my one-and-only trip happened at the age of fifteen. I’m a lot closer to 50 than 15 these days. As Rafiki would say, “It is time.”

  • where to stay?? We’ve got a family of 6 (tentative reservations have been made, but they are way out in Elizabeth, NJ, and that means a toll bridge drive to the Staten Island Ferry terminal) and we’d rather not pay to park the car for 3 or 4 days.
  • where to eat?? Cheap is a good friend of ours (nix the $100 per person meals) but we do like good food.

HELP!!

19 responses to “New Year, New York state of mind

  1. My uncle lives at E 96th and 5th Ave, but he’s 70 and probably not up to that many guests. 😉

    NYC’s quite the place. I haven’t been in 20 years, though. Have fun!

  2. Thanks, Gordo. Are you sure he doesn’t want to go hang out in horse country for a few days and feed our cat? 😉

  3. My sil emily is the absolute nicest. Email her! She lives near many art museums and would be good company. She knows all the great restaurants for good prices, museums and fun.
    🙂
    So, you gonna meet Knight?

  4. It sounds like a great trip–I hope you work it out.

  5. I live in NJ, in Montclair, about 15 minutes outside of the city. I will try to compose a list of restaurants and such. Sounds like a cool trip.

  6. Can’t help you there….it’s been years since I’ve been to NYC, and at that time I was single. So we stayed in Newark and took the train in every day.

  7. you should also email Moxie … she’s in the city and I’m sure she would have dozens of good suggestions!

  8. Awww, how fun! Take pics for us! Vlog if y’all happen to meet up with any bloggie buddies!!!

    😉

  9. I’m not very knowledgeable regarding hotels because I never stay in them but I’ll send a note to my mom because I think my family stayed in a fairly cheap place in a nice part of Manhattan a few years ago. I can tell you that as far as being in a safe neighborhood goes you will be fine almost anywhere in Manhattan these days. You would be most comfortable below 100th I think. Feel free to ask me about any area you are looking at and I’ll give you all the info I have. I don’t know anything about Jersey and far less regarding any boroughs but if you found a place in Brooklyn it might be a good option.
    Food is easy. What sort of cuisine does the family like?

  10. Psssst! I have a present for you at my place! 😉

  11. Well, I’ve got an uncle and a cousin in NYC, but my cousin lives in a dorm and my uncle’s place is tiny.

  12. Check out my pal Anne’s site — Cruising from New York. http://www.cruisingfromnewyork.com
    If you click under “Best of New York” you’ll get all kinds of info.

  13. Sounds like you will have a wonderful time, even if it means troll booths. I wish I could help, um, we have NY style cheesecake here!

  14. you know – if you end up out in elizabeth or weehawken or newark etc, it’s probably easiest to take the train into the city (nj transit) rather than driving / ferrying – a car in the city is a HUGE pain in the ass anyway, way more trouble than it’s worth, AND the parking fees in the city are freaking exorbitant. public transportation into and around the city is frequent, reliable, and cheap!

  15. Can’t help but sure hope it works out for you.

  16. When in NYC, eat PIZZA! I found that food wasn’t as expensive there as I’d expected, as long as I stayed away from main areas like times square.

  17. We (my wife and daughters and maybe a friend and her daughter and maybe me) are going in March to go visit the American Girl Doll store for my eldest daughter’s birthday. The tentative arrangements have them (us) staying overnight. I really have no interest in the store other than taking pictures of my kids, but I’d love to hang out with Knight and take some NYC pictures.

  18. Oh yeah, what Alice said is true. If you have your car with you in the city you probably will end up parking it somewhere and taking the subway most of the time. It would be easier to take the New Jersey Transit into the city if that is where you stay. Public transit is your friend.

  19. Public transit is your friend in NYC…just watch out for rush hour.

    Lots of great places to eat…delis are always a good bet in the city.