On the 13th day of Christmas

First of all, THANK YOU to all who have given advice on my NYC cry for help. I still welcome your help and advice! From all I am learning, it looks like we may have to stick with the place we are at ($106 per night, plus taxes; free parking and free hot breakfast) and maybe take the train in from there instead of riding the Staten Island Ferry into The City. The SIF plan began when we tried to stay in some old guest quarters belonging to the Coast Guard at Fort Wadsworth…but they are all booked up except for one night.

Hey, did you know that yesterday was the 12th day of Christmas?
In my house, that makes today the 13th day of Christmas. Because that’s how we roll.

This is me 42 years ago:

kc-1st-birthday

SnakeMaster just walked in and commented that I don’t look very female in this picture. Yes, that is what my 9yo son said. I suggested it might be the hair.

I look sort of surprised, don’t I?
I’m feeling a little surprised today: suddenly, I’m 43. When did that happen? My birthday always catches me a little off-guard, coming so soon after Christmas.

Speaking of Christmas, today is probably a good day to send out those last few cards and letters (hey, I can’t help it if I didn’t have their current addresses in December!) and, um, maybe mail out a few gifts (yeah, that is totally my late self) AND take down some Christmas decorations. Funny how the kids are all over getting decorations out and putting them on the tree, but when it comes to taking them down and putting them away? I don’t hear anyone clamoring to help. I don’t think anyone even notices the tree is still up. Or maybe no one really cares.
They might get that from me.
After all, doesn’t the mom set the tone for the whole house?

great-attitude-and-or-gratitude

Apparently, Farmer*sWife thinks I do a decent job! She recently awarded me this cute little lemonade stand for my attitude of gratitude.
Isn’t that sweet? I’m thinking she doesn’t live in my house on the days I forget to take my happy pills. Maybe the happy pills deserve the award?

november-2008-070

I’m grateful for these guys.

SuperDad

And I’m grateful to find a baby pic where I actually look like a girl, even if it is only because I am wearing a dress!

ks-better-baby-pic

…Plus, proof that none of my kids look like me!!
Probably a good thing, considering that they are all boys.

And of course, I am grateful for all of my friends out there in Blogland. It was nearly a year ago that I began reading blogs and making friends, and whether you know it or not, some of you really helped me through the dark days of winter (literally and figuratively).
Your friendship is a gift.


15 responses to “On the 13th day of Christmas

  1. I am glad to have met you, too! Though to be honest I don’t remember how I stumbled on your blog. But I am glad I did.

  2. YOUR BIRTHDAY???????????????????????? Congrats! And what a totally cute baby!!!!!!!!!

  3. Send me your email address at jdyrholm @ comcast . net and I’ll email you. 🙂

  4. Happy Birthday! Mine’s not until March. 🙂

  5. Happy Birthday! I love seeing old photos like that, you were very cute.

  6. Happy Birthday!
    I think you make a very cute baby. All children tend to be a little androgynous. I hope they let you stick your little fists in the cake.

  7. Awww Happy Birthday! You’re one of the sweetest out here in the Blogosphere. I hope your day is perfect.

  8. Heck, $106 a night is pretty durn good for a family of six anywhere.

  9. happy birthday!!

    i love the pic of your boys all stacked up like that 🙂

  10. Happy Birthday! I hope you had a wonderful day!

  11. Happy Birthday! And, yeah, it’s hard to find temp military lodgings near NYC…

  12. What a wonderful post — happy birthday! … The tree went bye-bye today today (after I worked two hours last night packing up 4 dozen character ornaments and 9 dozen gold balls). Seems always a little sad to me taking everything down, but let’s hope for more fun in the new year. 🙂 … Big birthday hug!

  13. Happy Belated Birthday!

    You’ll have to let me know what that $106/night room is like–it sure sounds like a bargain.