Consolation Prize

2009-january

School is starting on time today (2nd time this week!) and this will hopefully get the boys out of bed.

Don’t be overly impressed.  I had help from the Pillsbury Dough Boy.

17 responses to “Consolation Prize

  1. Cinnamon rolls help everything

  2. looks gorgeous to me!

  3. Those look so yummy!

  4. Oh wow. I don’t even like sweets all that much but that looks amazing!

  5. I’m sure they’ll be happy.

  6. I don’t care WHO helped….

    those look wonderful!

  7. Nothing wrong with getting a little help from the doughboy 😉

  8. Don’t know about your boys…but it would get me out of bed 🙂

  9. If you weren’t so far away, I’d join you for that breakfast! Love hot cinnamon rolls…. yummmyyy…

  10. Cinnamon rolls are life’s way of saying “take a bite and enjoy”.
    MMMMMMMMM they look good.

  11. Oh I have a can of those in the fridge that I bought when they were on mega-sale at Christmas … think I’ll make ’em next Friday when I have overnight guests coming!

  12. Hey, the Dough-boy is awesome. Especially when he’s cheaper with coupons than the generic. Because, Dough-Boy, is the dough!

    My kids love cinnamon rolls for breakfast. I like the smell, but personally? They just don’t do it for me.

    But, I will agree, it’s the best way to get them out of bed and dressed at the breakfast table! 😀

  13. That could be a commercial for Pillsbury!

    Visiting from Hilary’s.

  14. I’ll bet you had to poke him in the belly for those!

  15. I made those too.. only way I can bake is with the help of the Pillsbury dough boy.. did you try the orange ones.. yummy…

  16. Hi Kcinova,

    I just wanted to come by and clarify what I was saying on Reb’s site, because I was not intending to offend.

    The “melting pot” allusion is not meant as a pejorative description, and it has long been considered, in the USA and outside, as the standard description of the USA’s immigration policy.

    It has also never been intended to designate a sum that is less than its parts, either, which you referred to as a sickly brown mixture.

    In fact, the melting pot idea has usually been seen to be either strictly assimilationist in character, where the “status quo” wins out with no dilution, or, originally, as being almost Nietschean, a policy which created a ‘better man’.

    Michel Guillaume Jean de Crèvecœur (1735-1813) a Frenchman whom became a naturalised American (under the new name John Hector St. John–anglicized names are a feature of melting pot societies) was the first to coin the phrase, and he did it proudly as a new man, a new American, created through the melting pot crucible of the American immigration experience.

    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803-1882) was the next to use the phrase, and it has become a fixture in the political economic literature and debates.

    And the phrase does not mean that there are not people or states that do not value diversity.

    Nonetheless, institutionally, and historically, assimilation has been the overriding tendency in the USA (in Canada too, prior to Prime Minister Trudeau).

    That, for example, is an aspect of the “red scare”; people who had strange accents or strange names were obviously unAmerican.

    Finally, I would note that the demographical changes, and resulting different state-provided services you note, are hotly contested in the public in popular media in the US.

    As the social fabric of the US is shifting, so is concern, which was why, for example, every Republican candidate for Presidential candidate campaigned on immigration issues. And while some states are becoming bilingual, some communities have been trying to legislate demographic adherence to the old status quo…

    I just wanted to clarify, because I intended no offence.

    Sorry I took so much space to do so.

    Tschüss,
    Chris

    PS:

    I am so completely impressed with your Jan 23 (09) post in that you did not copy and paste a photo.

    Given the scanty facts I have picked up from your previous comment on Reb’s site and what I have seen here, I would have guessed it would be out of character anyway.

    But, still, good deeds out to be celebrated.

    So many people forget about intellectual property (Its only a picture, who will notice?) but that picture is someone’s bread, butter, and wurst for their kids.

    So, hooray for you! (There, remembering to talk in exclamation marks for Reb!)

    Tschüss, (!)
    Chris

  17. Thanks for coming by. I enjoyed the conversation. I am following you now as you are such fun. You know, that just looks wrong when written out. I wonder, does wordpress even have that expression or that capability? I think wordpress calls it blogrolling or something with vague lumberjack overtones.

    Anyway. Thank you for the exchange of views.

    Tschüss,
    Chris