Economic Guilt

Suburban Correspondent has done her part to stimulate the economy , and I am now feeling terribly guilty. I mean, who knew?!? It turns out I have been to blame for our failing economy. If hair has anything to do with it, that is.

I haven’t had a “professional cut” –and I use that term VERY loosely– in nearly 2 years. I have been cutting my own hair for the past 18 months. July 2007 is when I moved to an affluent county and I haven’t convinced myself to loosen my grip on the wallet for an over-priced pedicure, let alone a haircut. up-close and personal

Perhaps I am apathetic? I haven’t ruled it out; however, I actually like my hair. I’d rate it as one of my best features, and I know I should do more with it like maybe give it a good cut once in a while. In the past, I’ve had a few bad experiences while trying to find someone who actually knows how to cut naturally curly hair (do I sound like the spoiled girl from the Peanuts cartoon?) and I like to keep it long, so it is easy to “let it go” for a very long while.

The frugal part of me wants to keep using that home hair kit (oh those lovely sharp hair scissors!) and of course the lure of the oft-used fashionable light blue cape is salve to my savings account.

I fear the slippery slope: at first, it’s just a wee trim of the tresses, but soon someone will be talking about covering up my gray highlights.
And then, the snowball will be rolling, and the next thing you know…

Happy Toes

My personal economy will be sacrificed.
I’m not sure I’m ready.
Maybe this summer?

2 responses to “Economic Guilt

  1. There isn’t even a hint of natural curl in my hair, but for about 10 years I cut it myself… I guess I’ve been guilty of undermining the economy for all those years, as well…
    Trying to make up for it now though – have already been to a hairdresser twice since last summer!
    Truth be known – I had to, since my hair was beginning to show the effects of four chemo treatments. Otherwise I’d probably still be doing my own cutting.

  2. If I cut my own hair you’d all run away screaming when you saw me. I admitted over at SC’s that I spend $140 every 7 weeks (including the tip of course). I don’t feel bad about it at all. As Clairol used to say, “I’m worth it!”