Snow Angel

Snow Angel

Today is the first Sunday of Lent.
I didn’t grow up Catholic, nor am I Catholic now; my denomination has never required me to “give up” anything for Lent.  And yet, I always saw it as a sad time, those weeks leading us up to Maundy Thursday and Good Friday.  (The whole idea of Good Friday being GOOD is enough for another post, another time.)

Now, as a thinking adult, I find Lent to be a time of reflection, for taking stock of what is important in my life.  I no longer see it as a season of feeling “blue.”  Somber at times, yes — but not “blue.”

_____________________________________________

Discuss: Have you given up anything for Lent?  Or perhaps you have taken something on (practicing a new habit)?

______________________________________________

Thematic Photographic is a weekly photo meme presented by Carmi.

4 responses to “Snow Angel

  1. Oh, so pretty KC!

  2. Beautiful shot. And a thoughtfully presented entry. My own religious background doesn’t include anything remotely approaching Lent. But it includes its own times and traditions for taking stock of what’s been and preparing for the future.

    Whatever it’s called and whatever we call ourselves, we all need moments like this, to pause and reflect. Thanks for the reminder.

    Oh, I’ve got a little happy for you over at my blog. Hope you can pop by soon!

  3. Kinda gives a new meaning to “freezing your butt off” doesn’t it?

    Well done!

  4. Lent always fascinated me though I’ve never celebrated it.

    Lovely shot.