POPcorn

Back in October, Melli blogged about a really cool trick with popcorn and I’ve been itching to try it ever since.   Tonight we were all finally available to gather around the microwave and watch an ear of Indian corn turn into this:

2009 November 009

Isn’t that Cool?

2009 November 008

It’s not exactly how the Native Americans taught the Pilgrims to pop corn at the first Thanksgiving but it does make for an impressive show!

_______________________________________________________

POTW   Post of the Week, from Hilary at The Smitten Image

In other eye-popping news, Hilary awarded this post as a runner up in her “Post of the Week” award.  I am very honored.

Who knew that pointing out toilet paper changing skills (or lack thereof) could earn awards?

I just want my menfolk to learn to do the right thing…
*sigh*

11 responses to “POPcorn

  1. ROFL! It IS fun isn’t it! Just wait until you have a grandchild to impress! Whoo! Nothin’ beats it!!!

  2. Congrats. And that looks just as fun as microwaving Peeps!

  3. I love popcorn. Was it good?

  4. Now, if only I could get my hands on some Indian corn.
    Your post on tpcs WAS hilarious. Congrats!

  5. Well, I have some packaged corn on the cob that is actually advertised as POPPING corn. And that’s just how they recommend cooking it – in the microwave. I had no idea that regular old Indian corn would produce the same results. How did it taste?
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving such a nice comment!

  6. Oh fun! lol. 🙂

  7. No, the Indians used a Miele air popper and flavored the popcorn with garlic and parmesan!

    Just kidding – that does look very cool. Now I want to find some Indian corn – I don’t even know where to look in Southern California!

  8. Congrats on your toilet paper winning the weekly posts honor! 😉

    I still haven’t tried this popcorn thing. Since I have no kids to impress, how would I explain myself?

  9. Well that looks pretty cool! Emma still laughs when we pop popcorn with our air popper, so maybe she would like this!