Not alone in the woods today

Why we live in community

“Spirituality is the journey from self-centered and self-indulgent lives to a God-centered life together where we discover how to think with the mind of Christ, love with the heart of Christ, and serve as the hands of Christ.”

-Ed White

A walk in the woods

Many people have said they don’t need to go to church to worship God.  Do you agree or disagree?

Please discuss.

18 responses to “Not alone in the woods today

  1. of course we don’t NEED to
    but it is easier………..

  2. I don’t believe you have to go to church to worship God or to be a good Christian. But, I believe that a good church can be a force for good in your life and make you a better person and better Christian.

  3. I agree with what Jay said. People who shun church because it is full of hypocrites have obviously not taken a good look at themselves or their argument.

  4. To me, religion (including the Christian religions) make no sense at all except as a tool to help us manage the difficult task of living in community. We struggle with the strictures of community when times are good, neglecting the fact that we need the community to help us survive when times are bad. Given this understanding, the idea of worshiping the Christian God outside of a church verges on the ridiculous.

  5. Not all beliefs encompass church-going. Certainly not all religions do. There are many ways to show your love, gratitude and respect for life.

  6. I tend to agree with this. I’m not, and here’s where I don’t know if I’m saying this correctly or not, religious or a very big believer in God myself. I believe too much in me and I’ve always felt that way. I think what ever makes people happy is what counts really 🙂

  7. I worshiped God just fine for 25 years without going to church. It was just fine because I didn’t KNOW what I was missing out on! Going to church benefits ME – not God! Going to church further’s my understanding of God and draws me closer to Him. Going to church provides ME with Christian friends who support me when I need support, challenge me to reach new spiritual heights, and UNDERSTAND my love for my God, and know that Jesus IS our Savior. Church also offers me the opportunity to dine at the Lord’s table which fills my spirit tank runneth over. It also guarantees that at least once a week I am confessing my sins, and being forgiven! I believe that God is more than happy to receive the praise and worship from non-churched Christians. But they are missing His BLESSINGS that church provides!

  8. I had to go look this up…

    Then Jesus said to them, “The Sabbath was made to meet the needs of people, and not people to meet the requirements of the Sabbath.” Mark 2:27 (NIV)

  9. I think one can worship God and commune with Him when alone, but it’s hard to put into action a lot of the Bible’s teachings without being part of a church.

  10. I grew up in the warm cocoon of a strong community, reinforced by strong institutions for education, worship and community services. I believe to the core of my being that whatever we may believe, these pillars are inextricably linked, and are instrumental in building strong children who go on to become strong adults who in turn lead their communities in kind.

    I’ve seen time and again how individuals and groups, rocked by challenge and tragedy, look to the community for help, guidance and support that simply wouldn’t come from anywhere else.

    And time and again, I’ve seen the community rise up and selflessly make whatever needs to happen, happen. It’s a joy to see and to be a part of, and I’m glad you raised the issue.

  11. What a stunning photo.

    I haven’t gone to church for decades. I have no plans to return. But when I revisit good memories, it is usually a solitary experience, of being in a quiet place to communicate with God. I have experienced the awe of visiting great ancient European cathedrals that rekindled such feelings.

    I don’t think I need – or am suited for – an organized human community to worship among.

    That said, I really appreciate melli’s comment above. Recently I spoke with a relative who, after many years away from the church, returned and expresses similar feelings.

    Kcinnova – thanks for asking about our weather here in LA today – your inquiry made me decide to post about it.

  12. Beautiful photograph Kcinnova.

  13. You don’t need to go to church to worship God is certainly true> The problem is that many ( not all) people that say that don’t worship God anywhere.

  14. I love to go to church to get my Jesus on. That said, I think I experience church in a different way than many of my fellow Christians. I don’t think there’s one correct church, religion, God, or way to worship — or that worship is even the right word. I go to learn and feel connected to a greater good, and that can happen in so many ways and places. I love this question. What do you think?

  15. I would say that one doesn’t need to attend church to practice Christianity, yet I think that the community found there is probably invaluable.

  16. I think you DO need church to worship God. Let me explain: Sure…you can worship God without church…you can worship God at anytime, anwhere. But, I don’t think worship is complete without church. I think the point of our existence here on earth is to learn to love. I think you need to associate with a community of believers to do this. Church gives you an opportunity to serve and love and work through conflict with others. Church is about more than just sitting and listening to the sermon.

  17. So, Cheri asked me to weigh in here…

    I believe that God can be worshiped anywhere and at anytime. As several others have written, corporate worship brings another dimension into the mix; it often makes my own worship richer and, sometimes, more powerful and more poignant. And if that is what it does for me, does it not also follow that my being there to worship in the presence of others might bless them too? I think so.
    I also believe that in order to live out my faith, I need to practice this in a community of fellow believers. We encourage and challenge one another and we also hold one another accountable for our words and actions (or, at least we attempt this!). Sometimes it is hardest to love those whom we brush up against on a daily basis, but as several of you pointed out, there are a lot of blessings being a part of a faith community.

    I don’t live in a cocoon where I am surrounded by only like-minded individuals, and I really don’t think I would want to live like that even if I had the opportunity.
    Thank you for sharing in this discussion. I’m grateful to each and every one of you who took the time and effort to participate. ♥

  18. Wow, KC, you nailed everything I was thinking right on the head. Thanks for letting me take the lazy way out. 🙂 Great post!