WWC: Weather & Mail

I’m running behind for this week (and last week, and probably next week) but I just checked my facebook inbox  for the first time in about 2 weeks and discovered the Weekly Words Challenge assignment for Jan  – Feb 2nd.

When I got up [at noon-ish] on Saturday, it had already been snowing for a couple of hours. By 2:30pm when I took this picture

we had 4 inches out of the eventual 5.5 inches of snowfall. It was a lovely dry, powdery snow.

Tuesday night’s snowfall was heavy and wet, but the 5 inches that fell was perfect for making snowmen.

If you are a 6’2″ teenager, it might also be a perfect opportunity to kick the snowman’s head off…

Don’t feel too bad for the snowman. It was originally 5 balls tall and had been created by rolling up snow from the driveway on Wednesday morning. These photos were taken on Thursday afternoon.

We are expecting a big “snow event” this weekend, somewhere between 12 and 24 inches of the terrific white stuff.

I love snow.

my mailbox

**The words for February 2 – 9 are ANIMAL and MINERAL.**

12 responses to “WWC: Weather & Mail

  1. Wow, what fun. I’d like to kick a snowman’s head off, too!

    The snow is beautiful.

  2. I don’t even like snow that much, but that kicking thing looks pretty fun!

  3. Hey, very creative way to clean the driveway. I am not so certain that killing the defenseless snowman was creative, but it burned off some excess energy.

  4. Now there’s one thing I have never done is to kick a snowman’s head LOL. How fun 🙂 The snow is wonderful in pictures I must say 🙂

  5. Looks like you´re having fun with it. And sounds like you won´t be having a shortage of snow anytime soon…good thing you like snow!

  6. Our accumulations have now been upgraded to 20-28 inches!

  7. I love that action photo!

    We are getting anywhere from 3 to 24 inches. They can’t be more specific until they know where the storm shifts. GRRR.

  8. Oh, how I love snow days and being snowed in at home. We’ve only gotten around 50″ so far this year and I’m feeling a bit disgruntled. The winter before last we had around 120″. Hmph.

    Have a grand weekend. 🙂

  9. Are you ready for this weekend’s blizzard? Really coming down here in Alexandria now!

    • Missicat, it’s been snowing hard for the past 2 hours out where we live, although the roads are still mostly just slush.
      Melli is right: our accumulation prediction is now up to 2o-28 inches by Saturday night!

  10. WOOHOO! it’s coming down strong – i’m off to my bf’s house to be snowed in there for the weekend 🙂

  11. I am so far behind on the wwc it isn’t funny. I haven’t just fallen behind there, I haven’t been reading or blogging at all this week! Love the snowman, good way to clear the drive 🙂