BUNNYCAM update!

Stay warm under all that snow, bunnies!

11:20am on Saturday, February 6th:

26 inches and still coming down!

I shoveled for 3 hours last night, when it was only 6-8 inches deep.  I started at 6 inches and it was 8 inches by the time I finished. Then I took a long bath and 2 aspirin for my soon to be aching back.

My husband went out this morning to check our heat pump.  We don’t have a true furnace; there is an air-handler unit in the basement and a large fan outside.

Keeping the heat pumps clear, Dec 19, 2009

When SuperDad went out this morning, the heat pumps were completely encased in snow and going into defrost mode to attempt to save themselves.  They need to be kept clear so they can actually keep the air pumping and we can actually have a warm house.  Of course, having electricity helps! Our power flickered 4 times around midnight last night. I’m grateful to still have it working. THAT was not a scenario I had entertained…

My back hurts from all that shoveling, but I still love snow!

14 responses to “BUNNYCAM update!

  1. Yep! Cleaning off the heat pumps was the first thing Hubby did this morning! The downstairs unit was okay – but the upstairs unit was completely caked up… They’re right next to each other — I don’t get it!

    • Drifting snow does weird work!

      Melli, the neighbors behind us (the ones who have never spoken to us except once –to be rather rude) are renters. They didn’t keep the snow brushed away on December 19th and they haven’t done it today, either. I wonder if/when they will be shivering and regretful? Their landlords live only a few miles away, but there is no driving these roads. My husband –who is in excellent shape — walked to the bottom of our little hill and had to rest 5 times!! The snow is deep and difficult to navigate. He brought SnakeMaster back home from the neighbor’s house because they could walk in dad’s tracks.
      It is some kind of crazy out there!

  2. Good Lord – but you have really been dumped on! What’s the traffic situation like – is the entire State at a standstill?

    • T – the Governor declared a State of Emergency before the stuff even hit. My husband’s hospital brought in an additional 200 nurses yesterday so they could spell each other. Other hospitals weren’t so smart. They were calling for folks with 4WD vehicles to bring people to work at suppertime last night. It’s too late for any of that now — people are stuck where they are. SuperDad wishes he had snowshoes! I’m just glad he didn’t have to stay at work. He’s strapping on the cross-country skis now, but I’m nursing my back with a heating pad.

  3. Wow. Just wow. Following it on MSNBC now.

  4. WOW!!! Love it.

  5. OMG. What a lot of work. It’s beautiful I must say but, and don’t take this wrong, I’m glad it’s you and not me. I’ve been following this on CNN and it’s just amazing to me how much snow is falling. And they are worried about Global Warming? Deosn’t make sense to me. Take care and keep warm and I hope your aches and pains go away soon. 🙂

  6. Wow, stunning!! Fun and exciting, but I imagine it gets old fast!

    It’s just rain rain rain for us – our road is blocked by a mudslide, and they say another storm is coming in this afternoon.

    Hope you stay safe – and I love love love the pictures of such pristine snow.

  7. Wow! You have Minnesota beat this weekend, hands down!

  8. Wow! What an incredible snow fall. I am glad you are warm and safe.

  9. Wow.. you must be thrilled. I hope your back feels better soon.. just in case you need to shovel more. 😉

  10. I have to admit that i am a bit jealous! that is some serious snow, amounts that remind me of home! rumor has it we will see something similar on wednesday but i will not hold my breath! good luck digging out!