Playing catch-up: a Friday 5

By being all smart and time-conscious, I took a little time on Monday to write and schedule my posts for this week… and then discovered that I was missing out on some fun things!
So today I will stop and give you a Friday 5:

1. My umbrella (which was all the rage to discuss and view on Monday)

Irises, by Vincent Van Gogh

2. Although we spent the night with thunderstorms rolling through the area, it has mostly been a warm and sunny week — so warm that we sleep with the windows open. I absolutely love the fresh 2am breezes blowing through the room.  However, my week of headaches, nausea and dizziness that has magically disappeared this morning may be related to all of the pollen and allergens that were highly present until washed away last night. (I woke up feeling great today!)

3. We have a mockingbird with insomnia. I was in giggling hysterics the other night during its midnight concerto, which typically lasts about 2 hours.  Hey, it’s either laugh or cry — that bird is LOUD. I was tired enough to fall asleep before the end of its repertoire. We’ve been known to be kept awake during the entire concert then fade off to sleep…  only to be awoken by normal birds singing in the dawn.  Still, I’m grateful: we once had a resident mockingbird that had spent time under the tutelage of a car alarm.

4. The stinkbugs have decided that the weather is pleasant enough outside to leave the warmth and safety of our house — or at least their hiding places. I thought last fall was bad, but we are sending them to Davy Jones’ locker by the dozens this week.

5. Five pictures from our trip to NYC

the show we saw

(click on photographs to enlarge)
Yes, I know I need to write a post about the trip!

9 responses to “Playing catch-up: a Friday 5

  1. I heard on the news yesterday that the pollen count in our area has been one of the worst on record. I was thinking…..no s–t! I have felt horrible the past few days, with yesterday being the worst.

    I LOVE the umbrella.

  2. The Phantom of the Opera!!!! That is my all time FAVORITE show…EVER…looks like a fantastic trip!

  3. Cool umbrella.

    I’ve seen Phantom, but I had to see the road show in Tulsa instead of seeing it on Broadway. It was still awesome!

  4. What a gorgeous umbrella. I’d give my left ear for one of those. 😉

    Beautiful shot of the Statue of Liberty.

  5. Awesome photos of NYC. I love ’em. Funny about the mockingbird. LOL I would be tempted to get a shotgun, or at least a bb gun LOL. Your umbrella is real nice 🙂

  6. Love that first photo of NY. The old and the new. Great composition!
    I think if that bird were singing at our place at night, my hubby would be out there with the shot gun! 🙂

  7. Gorgeous photos of a fantastic-looking trip.

    I left that very umbrella in a cab in Chicago once. I still miss it.

  8. Love that pic of the statue of Liberty!

    I can’t wait until our weather is warm enough for open windows!

    Mockingbirds sing at night when they are looking for a mate. Get him a girlfriend and he’ll be doing other things at night so you can sleep.

  9. I sooooooo WANT that umbrella! YOU WIN! Hands down!

    I guess I shouldn’t complain about lady bugs since the b’zillion of them I’ve got are at least NOT stink bugs!

    Open windows would have KILLED me this week! I’ve been suffering – and still am – though not AS much as before the rain. My throat and sinuses just feel like they have been BRUTALLY attacked! I’m glad you are feeling better!

    New York looks positively SPLENDID! Yes, you DO need to write a post!