Brick for Breakfast

Nowhere near a Wordless Wednesday

I have 4 sons… the oldest is doing serious yardwork 10 hours per week, the next in line is pretraining for the cross-country season, the 3rd one is a picky eater, and the youngest doesn’t like meat (unless it is salmon, cheeseburgers, or hot dogs).

We keep a big bag of whey protein powder on the kitchen counter (SuperDad has a small power-packed glass of it before catching the morning train) but I try to limit them to only 1 or 2 servings a day of that stuff.  And while they now drink milk to the tune of 6+ gallons per week, in the boys’ early years, we dealt with milk allergies.  Back then, I was trying to get enough calories and protein into their little bodies. My husband recalled a protein bar that his mom had and asked me to get the recipe. When we next visited, I asked my MIL about “brick.” She was puzzled for a minute and then realized I was talking about her Peanut Butter Chews recipe. It had milk in it, but I was already experienced in substituting ground almonds for dry powdered milk in some recipes, and this recipe worked wonderfully with that switcharoo.

raw almonds + VitaMix dry mixer = ground almonds (a.k.a., almond meal)

I made a big batch of Brick to take with us on our NY trip last August. Part of it I set aside for camping snacks and breakfast, but I knew how much Gary loves his peanut butter — and also that he doesn’t consume dairy products — so I packaged some brick up just for him and hid it in the cooler.  He loved it and asked if I’d share the recipe.

Gary, I haven’t forgotten! Here is the long-delayed recipe for Brick:

Mix together:

  • 1 and 1/4 cup Powdered Sugar
  • 200 grams Ground Almonds (the original recipe called for 2 cups of dry powdered milk–I adapted it for my family when EB was a little guy)
  • about 3/4 cup of Wheat Germ (this was not in the original recipe, but we love our wheat germ)

dry ingredients ready to be mixed together

Then add:

  • 1 cup light Corn Syrup (you can use honey, but it will turn out really super sweet)
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup raisins (optional–I have kids who don’t like raisins)

Mixed and ready to press into your "form" -- unless you have 5 guys hanging around who try to eat it ALL at this point!

Mix it up thoroughly and press into an 8-inch pan (or appropriate sized Tupperware-type container)

a batch of brick: ready for lid and refrigeration

Cover and store in the refrigerator. Cut into bars to serve.

This is messy and gooey and sweet. And we pretend it is good for you, too!

Here is Gary’s story of our visit. His clown car image cracks me up! You can find my post about it here.

7 responses to “Brick for Breakfast

  1. wait…its NOT good for you? it has wheat germ in it! i think we may have to try this…

  2. This looks like something I´d like. But just imagine a layer of melted chocolate on top….. 🙂

  3. man, that sounds GREAT!!!

  4. Sounds good! We may have to try this.

    We love wheat germ and I have taken to substituting it for bread crumbs. I love my homemade “shake and bake” with wheat germ and spices. Yum!

  5. mmmmm i’m with betty… this sounds like something that needs chocolate on it!! 🙂

  6. This sounds great–I’ll have to make some for MVP to take backpacking.

  7. OH HO! Ah HA!!!!! GOT it, thanks. Yummo, actually 🙂