Father’s Day

This weekend hasn’t all been about the last day of school and MM’s graduation from high school; it is also Father’s Day.

I’m not a big fan of “Hallmark holidays” (Valentines Day? meh.) but Father’s Day is special: today is the 100th anniversary of Father’s Day, which began in Spokane, Washington, and is now celebrated in over 50 countries around the world. (I’m not sure what they do on other planets.) I love that Sonora Smart Dodd, the woman who is behind the holiday, wanted this holiday established to honor the man who stood by his family. Her own mother died when she was 16 years old, and her father continued on his own to raise Sonora and her 5 younger brothers.

We don’t do the Hallmark thing at our house; the kids and I make our own cards. SuperDad requested a homemade Key Lime Pie, which is waiting in the freezer. We accepted an offer from a good friend with a backyard pool and spent the latter part of the day escaping from the 90-degree heat (plus humidity).  I loved watching my husband play in the water with his 4 sons.  These are memories that I will treasure.

MusicMan and SuperDad

photo taken by SuperDad’s mom

5 responses to “Father’s Day

  1. I’m prejudiced of course, but military Dads are the best Dads.

  2. Nice. This is what makes family.

  3. I ‘spect they are memories HE will treasure too – as well as the sons! I’m glad you all had a great Father’s Day!

  4. Grownup Girl cooked last night–shish kebobs–so it was a treat for both Mom and Dad.

    I love when all the kids–big and old alike–get in the pool and have a great time. There’s something about water!

  5. Glad you had a great weekend 🙂