13 Thursday snippets

I’m working in the nursery this week for our church’s Vacation Bible School. Lucky me, I get to spend time with these 2 sweet baby girls!

I’m guessing 10-15 years until I am a grandmother. I’m looking forward to it! 😀

racous symphony
early morning cicada
please go back to sleep

We’ve been spending money like crazy lately and it’s all been for MusicMan to go to college.  SuperDad purchased the laptop that will accompany MM; I purchased the plane ticket and other incidentals (XL bedding, etc.).  I’m avoiding any sight of  the bank account status.

I might need to purchase a plane ticket for myself. My dad fell and broke his leg last week; he is currently hospitalized in a rehab facility while he takes pain meds and they evaluate if his leg can be placed in any sort of a cast.

My mother has been hospitalized this week, too, but her trip was planned: she had a knee replacement on Tuesday.

The doctor told me a few years ago that I’ll probably be looking at a new knee myself in about 20 years. That is a lot more expensive than a plane ticket. Darn arthritis.

Summer here = heat and humidity. SuperDad is TDY in an equally hot and humid location; therefore, I am not envious at all!

However, SnakeMaster is going to the beach for an entire week. His “other family” is taking him again this year; they even get to have him on his birthday! I’m glad he has this opportunity… even if I am a bit green over it.

I am hopeful that the the 6 of us can take one last family vacation before MusicMan heads off to college, EB becomes immersed in the Cross-Country season, and H-J gives up all his free time to Marching Band. SnakeMaster & I have been trying to talk everyone into going to Chincoteague to see the wild ponies.

Of course, I wish I could be taking MM to school. I had originally planned thought about a road trip in conjunction with taking him to college, but then reality reared its ugly head.  Five days of driving in each direction simply isn’t feasible.

I was also toying with the idea of going to Wisconsin again to visit family there. My SIL told me that their schools start earlier than ours, and since she is a teacher and all 3 of her kids are in school, I had to give up on that idea, too.

*sigh*

11 responses to “13 Thursday snippets

  1. They are just adorable 🙂

  2. I hope your dad and mom will be ok. Sounds like they are going through a hard time.
    Do try to make one last family vacation. Once MM goes to college it gets harder and harder to coordinate the family events.

  3. i will go see the ponies with you!!! its something i have always wanted to do!!

  4. Such sweet little girls 🙂

  5. Hope your parents heal quickly! And I’ve ALWAYS wanted to go to Chincoteague to see the ponies!!!

  6. I’m sorry to hear about your parents and their ailments. I’ll send warm, healing thoughts their way. Those little darlings are just adorable. Thanks for that day-brightener.

  7. Oh I DO think you should go to Chincoteague… but maybe not for the WHOLE trip! Mom & I went down to see the wild ponies a few years ago – but only for one day while we were in Ocean City. Although… Chincoteague DOES have a nice beach — IF you don’t have MOM with ya! It’s rather a wide one and we didn’t get to the water…

    I am putting your parents in my prayers. Sounds like they are really having a time of it. Hope both are feeling better soon.

    Looks like you have a MUCH easier VBS week than I had! LOL! (but I wouldn’t give mine up!)

  8. I am having a really hard time scheduling a family vacation this year, too. Everyone is so busy!

    Is there no way you can fly out with MM? If you can’t, you can’t, but I can relate to why you really would want to.

  9. Oh, I hope your folks are okay and heal up quickly. The visit to the ponies sounds like a wonderful idea.

  10. Hope Mom and Dad heal quickly. I can’t believe you won’t be there to get your first born settled in his dorm! I know he is all grow up and all, but college kids are still babies in my opinion. 🙂

  11. You could come here, but that would involve more plane tickets because driving is probably still out of the question.