Day is Done

At night when the house is dark
and I lay quietly on my bed,
my thoughts bubble up to the surface.
If I have time before slumber arrives
I’ll examine those bubbles
and wonder
Do they tell the truth?
Is inspiration a dream meant for sleep
or ill-fated hope for morning?
The cooling breeze from the fan cannot blow the clouds away
to give a clear view of those thoughts that hide in the deep
when the day is bright and busy.

10 responses to “Day is Done

  1. Boy that sure is a fitting analogy. I’ve never thought of it like that. 🙂 Silence is golden I’ve always heard 🙂

  2. And what was I thinking not commenting on the reflection. It’s beautiful my friend. Very well done 🙂

  3. Beautiful photo, intriguing thoughts.

  4. A beautiful reflective (in photo and word) post that I will think on all day..

  5. Those thoughts are always bigger and more persistent at night, aren’t they? Nicely done, KC.

  6. I live in silence. Rarely do I listen to the radio or TV. I live with my thoughts. Some days are more comfortable than others.

  7. Lovely. Both the photo and the words.

  8. Great post and beautiful photo!

  9. I’m like Quilly — I live most of my time in silence… with my thoughts … and JOYfully so! But I sure do REMEMBER when I didn’t have a spare moment to think! And so, I appreciate that gorgeous picture – and a beautiful thought too!

  10. beautiful shot and words 🙂