Daily Archives: October 12, 2010

8 questions

 

Melli, Ella, and me

 

I was over at Melli‘s blog and saw that she had written 8 questions, just for the taking. 😛  She will be surprised, perhaps, to discover that I am one of those folks who hadn’t seen the 8-question meme and was thrilled to be given 8 questions!  Of course, it took me a while to get on the ball and answer them…

So on the off chance that one of you might NOT have been tagged with this already and might actually be wishing that someone would give you 8 questions… (yea… right!) … here they are… JUST for you!

1. If you could do ONE thing, anything… big or little… to make the world a better place, what would it be? And why?
I’d like to have everyone spend a day in his or her enemy’s shoes (figuratively speaking). Perhaps then, people would have more compassion for one another instead of being so quick to judge or hate.

2. If you had to survive a natural disaster, which kind would you choose?
I’ve “missed out” on experiencing the effects of 2 natural disasters: the Nisqually Quake of 2001 and the eruption of Mt. St. Helens in 1980. I was living in Washington State 30 years ago, but all I heard and felt was a great big BOOM at 8:32am on May 18th. Many folks were covered by a foot of the powdery gray fallout, but we only received a dusting of the ash. And in 2001, I was living in Texas and only heard about the earthquake from my Seattle relatives. Given a choice between the 2, I’d take the earthquake.

3. What do you think is the MOST amazing thing about the human brain?
Well… I don’t know that it is the MOST amazing thing, but I find it pretty amazing that there are so many functions taking place in our bodies that we don’t have to THINK about in order to do –breathing comes to mind here– and yet our super-computer brain keeps those functions running.

4. If Crayola asked you to name THIS COLOR, what would you call it? Please don’t say orange. Be creative!
That color would definitely be called PUMPKIN!

5. What is the longest you’ve ever procrastinated doing something and what is that something?
Oh, so many things! I am an A-1 procrastinator. Right now I’ve got a growing pile of shirts that need ironing. The last time I finally ironed, I discovered that my kids had outgrown 2 of the shirts while I ignored the chore! Lame–I know.

6. If Jesus were coming to your house for dinner tonight, would you be more concerned about what to feed Him, how clean the house is, or what you were going to wear?
I’m lucky that dinner is already planned for tonight, so I suppose I’d be a little panicked about the cleanliness factor. I don’t think I would worry about what I’m wearing. I would, however, be concerned that he might catch the upper respiratory virus I seem to have picked up. [cough, hack, blow nose, repeat]

7. What WOULD you feed Him?
Tonight’s dinner is slated to be homemade lasagna,  and since that qualifies as company fare, I would definitely keep it on the menu! We’re also having homemade bread (bread machine) and a salad, plus apple crisp for dessert.

8. If I gave you $5 to use to make a stranger smile, what would you do with it?
Hmmmm…. buying a coffee for the person in line behind me at Starbucks would be a great idea, if I ever went to Starbucks… and it would be awesome to buy a homeless person a meal at McDonalds or something like that, but in my remote-ish area, that’s not likely to happen either… so maybe I would buy a bunch of flowers and give them to someone who looks “down.” Then I’d smile and say, “God loves you, and I hope you have a blessed day!”

