Bringing in the Harvest

We were blessed this year with more apples than we could possibly use. Neighbors were given bagfuls of the best looking fruits, and the rest were sliced and dried or turned into apple crisp, apple cobbler, and applesauce.

I probably should have used that photo for a weekend reflections post, but if I wait any longer it will be November and well past apple picking season. (Then you’ll KNOW how long ago I took this picture!)

Last year we had maybe two apples from our trees, so we were pleasantly surprised to have a bumper crop this year.
Our tomatoes and peppers didn’t fare as well, but I’m certainly thankful for all that we have.

What are you thankful for today?

12 responses to “Bringing in the Harvest

  1. I am thankful for the time I got to spend last night with my friend’s little ones. I babysat for a 5 year old and 6 year old who ran me ragged and made me laugh and craved my attention every second. It was a totally unexpected great time.

  2. I’m thankful for many things… but apples wasn’t on the list. Nor really are MY bumper crop of acorns! Actually… apples should be on my list… but I have to get mine from the grocery store! Or drive to Winchester, VA. 😀 This year the store wins.

    I’m thankful for … YOU!

  3. I’m sad to say that I didn’t do any apple baking this year. I did drink warm apple cider though. 🙂

    I am so thankful that the wind has died down and that the family is safe, sound, and happy.

  4. I’m VERY thankful that I won’t have to meet my students again until November 9th!

  5. Nice crops ya got there! I’m thankful for the apples I just picked up at the Amish market for the office. Delicious!

  6. i’m thankful for my excellent friends, with whom i have a stellar weekend planned. are you going to the rally on saturday?? 🙂

  7. My children’s father–two families I know have lost dads this week; a suicide and an officer killed in the line of duty. It’s so very sad.

  8. mmmm, I’ve been craving tart crunchy apples lately!

  9. It looks like you’ll have plenty for a Hallowe’en bobbing for apples. Great crop!

  10. That is a lot of apples! I am grateful to have indoor plumbing and heat today…chilly here.

  11. I wish we could grow apples down here. Too hot, though.

    I do want to plant a lemon tree, an orange tree, a lime tree and an avocado tree. Wondering when is the best time of year to do this?? Hmmmm….

  12. About the only thing that thrived in my garden where the green onions!