That’s what friends are for

On Halloween, after we finished up with the parade (H-J was in the marching band, I was handing out candy), we didn’t head straight home. I had someone I wanted to see.

It was the 5th anniversary of her husband’s death. She spent the morning remembering a wonderful man with their children, and then in the evening she took the kids trick-or-treating.

Can you imagine how difficult that would be?

I’ve only known her for a few years, but I’ve walked through several trials with her and I’m amazed by her strength.


I hope that my presence was a comfort.   We had a drink to toast the memory of her beloved husband.
And then, because she is a nurturing friend and consummate hostess, she made delicious omelettes.

We share a friendship with much laughter and tears (and food and drink).


I hope you have someone in your life with whom you can share tears of sorrow and joy.

10 responses to “That’s what friends are for

  1. You are a good friend. On anniversaries like that, we need friends around us.

    My mom passed the day after the Super Bowl, and I have friends who always remember to take private moment during the chaos of football and commercials to let me know that they love me. It always surprises me and it always means the world to me.

  2. She’s so blessed to have a good friend like you.

  3. Gosh, I’m glad you were there for her…

  4. friends are the salt of the earth; without friends life would be a lonely place.

  5. Good friends are hard to come by, I’m glad you found each other.

  6. Good friends are such a blessing. I’m glad she has you.. and you her.

  7. That is EXACTLY what friends are for..

  8. You are sweet to be there for her. I´m sure she knows what a special friend you are!

  9. Those rituals really help with loss–she’s lucky to have you to raise a glass with.

  10. Awww… I wish YOU lived closer!