Black Friday? No No No!

...visions of sugarplums...

1. We have made it past Thanksgiving here in the USA, so I am declaring it officially acceptable to deck the halls and over-play the songs that will be blessedly absent from the airwaves one month from today. 

2. Please don’t think that I hate Christmas music. I actually like it very much, the classier the better! But too much of anything — be it candy canes, chocolate, egg nog, or dogs barking “Jingle Bells” — is bad for you. I speak with the voice of experience.

3. That goes for shopping, too.  Too many people, too much focus on spending money and finding the “right” gift  (which of course seems to cost way too much money)… it makes me stressed just thinking about it!  The crowds and the greed take away from the joy, the lights shining in the darkness, the focus on God and family — and aren’t those the things that we truly treasure about this time of year?

4.  I’m not all Bah Humbug! I’m still enjoying looking for the perfect t-shirts for family members. This one didn’t make the cut, but it did make me laugh:

5. SuperDad and I plan to trek into The City this afternoon for one of those 90 minute presentations that supposedly will earn us free airline tickets and 2 nights free at some hotel/resort.  We have no intention of purchasing a time-share, which I assume is the purpose of the presentation; we just hope to score free transportation and/or a weekend getaway. Now that I am writing this and sharing it with you, it all strikes me as very funny (funny-peculiar, not funny-haha). If I recognize the contradiction here, does that keep me from being a hypocrite? Because while I am not out participating in the madness referred to as “Black Friday” and busily pointing out the greed that runs rampant this time of year, I fully intend on wasting several hours of my afternoon and evening trying to wrangle a too-good-to-be-true deal.  

5 responses to “Black Friday? No No No!

  1. Oh my goodness I am so with you on all of this and no I don’t think you are a hypocrite for wanting to have a get away with your husband and going to this seminar on black friday doesn’t really constitute being a part of all that madness.

    It is not that I don’t like all things Christmas but I do wholeheartedly believe in not having these things before Thanksgiving. I think one entire month of it is plenty. 🙂 I don’t take part in the black Friday madness mainly because I don’t like shopping even in the best of circumstances but standing out in the very cold temperatures is not my cup of tea nor are the rude inconsiderate people shoving their way into the store(gotten this from people who take part in it-had one friend get a broken ankle from getting stomped on). The fact that I don’t really have money for Christmas gifts pretty much seals the deal of why I am home in my warm house, drinking coffee, puttering with chores around the house and reading blogs instead of partaking in the madness.

    Happy Friday…I truely hope you score a get away with your husband today. 🙂

  2. My neighbors have done this and they don’t really mind it–plus, they get the free stuff.

    I just say “no” to Black Friday.

  3. I see no problem with being recompensed for your time while you listen to someone drone on about time-shares. It’s kind of like buying a lotto ticket every-once-in-awhile., if you win, great, if not, didn’t invest much anyway.

    Sadly, I was at our local mall last night and saw ads for “It’s U.S. Black Friday” … um, that’s as far as I read 😉 I presume they are having a big sale as well. I think it is a bit sick that they have to try to introduce us to your madness, we have enough of our own. The mall has been decorated since the middle of November and Santa has been sitting there bored for weeks. On the other hand, I now only have two more gifts to get 😉

  4. I am not stepping into a store today. I was going to go to the grocery store, but I even changed my mind about that. If we don’t have it today, we don’t need it before tomorrow. Crazy shoppers are right off my list of fun things, and they will be crazy until about midnight December 24th.

  5. WHERE did you find that TSHIRT????? Love it!