Do you think this parent will recognize herself?

I am NOT making this up! As seen in the school newsletter this month:

“We are having some difficulties when parents are going through the parent pick-up line that places our children in danger. Please keep in mind the following procedures:
Parents need to move up the line as soon as space becomes available.
Parents should not stop their vehicles in the cross-walk.
On average 50 – 60% of parents are on the cell phone while they are driving and picking up their children. These drivers are not giving their full attention to driving which is extremely dangerous around teens who do not always pay attention to their surroundings.
Lastly, to the parent in the SUV who drives while holding the cell phone in the right hand, a diet coke in the left, and steers with her knees, please consider the lesson you are modeling for your child.”

18 responses to “Do you think this parent will recognize herself?

  1. Not a chance! People like that never recognize their own bad behaviour.

  2. Hell no…Isn’t that just amazing. People are just plain ass stupid.

  3. People lacking self-criticism rarely recognize themselves even if you literally point them to the “mirror”…

  4. OMG. I would guess that the knee-driving SUV person probably doesn’t read the newsletter. O_0

  5. That is hysterical. Love it.

  6. LOL! I’m guessing the knee driving SUV mom probably ignores the newsletter because it’s full of all kinds of rules that don’t apply to her. Suburban Mom Entitlement Syndrome is a terrible affliction. haha 😉

  7. Ohhhh that is funny! GOOO your school! No… that parent won’t even READ the newsletter!

  8. That parent is too busy mowing children down with their cars to read the newsletter, Bossy would imagine.

  9. You can’t teach an old parent anything.

  10. This is too funny! I had this happen in the past few months.

    As PTL Secretary I was sending out the details for the ‘proposed’ fall fundraiser that the parents had ‘agreed and voted on’ at the previous PTL mtg.

    One of my responses to the survey was, “Why are we having a fundraiser if we have funds. I will NOT support any fundraiser unless I know exactly to where those funds are going.”

    In my follow up fundraiser letter, I spoke clearly and fairly to all explaining how our school’s funds and fundraising works. = I basically, slapped her from the page she was reading.

    LOL!

  11. Can’t be me – I don’t drink Diet.

  12. Nope.. that newsletter is at the bottom of their kidlet’s backpack along with the previous four issues.

  13. No way. They never do. However, maybe if they get umpteen copies shoved in their mailbox . . .!

  14. Oh. My. God.

    That poor child.

  15. Are you trying to say that I shouldn’t be using my laptop and finishing my wheaties while I drive? I mean, c’mon, I am using the speakerphone for my blackberry. Sheesh, are you ever picky.

  16. that wouldn’t be the lincoln navigator that i am constantly matched up with every morning, praying that the diet coke wont spill causing a moment of realization that her nice leather seats will be ruined and react with a jerk of her GIANT car in my direction…just saying?

  17. How did you know where my kids’ school is?

    🙂

    Seriously, it’s a wonder there aren’t more accidents in these danger zones given the idiocy we see behind the wheel every morning and afternoon.

    I think some YouTube-based shaming of the perpetrators is in order. Who’s with me?

  18. Nope… from experience (and very recent experience!) I’ve noticed that certain people just can’t see their own behaviour!